Marriage licenses are obtained from the Register of Deeds office in any North Carolina county. You do not have to get your license from the county that you will be married in--but you do have to return the signed license to the same office that you got it from!
The current cost of a North Carolina marriage license is $60. Most counties only accept cash--so check before you go!
North Carolina marriage licenses can be used immediately upon issuance and are good for 60 days. Once signed at the ceremony, the original license must be returned to the Register of Deeds office where it was issued.
NC state law says that each couple must purchase their marriage license themselves and any local NC Register of Deeds office. Your minister or officiant cannot purchase or provide the license for you!
To be legally married in North Carolina couples must: